Call Us

Board of Directors & Executive Staff

Victor Harbor Private Hospital Board members with the support of Executive staff affirm their desire to maintain and develop the private hospital’s growing reputation  as a valuable part of our community and we strive for the highest quality in service and personalised patient care.

The Board is made up of nine (9) Volunteer Community Members and Executive Staff of the Hospital and Barossa Hills Fleurieu Local Health Network.

Each Board Member brings to the table a variety of skills and experience that assists and supports the Executive to make sound decisions on behalf of the Private Hospital and its end users.

Board Members


Phil Goode

Operates a beef cattle farming enterprise in the Waitpinga district and offers management consultancy on other properties.
Phil has served continuously for 17 years on the VHPH Board and currently in the third year as Chairperson. 


Chris McRae
Board Member

Chris has extensive experience in Education and Research, Training and Development. She has an interest in community living and health within our region and is deputy Chairperson and on the hospital’s Clinical Service Committee.


John Woite
Board Member

Retired Police Officer with many years’ service in investigation and document presentation.  Appointed in 2012 and a Justice of the Peace.



Dr. Robert Thornton
Board Member

Dr Rob Thornton PhD gerontology has extensive experience over 45 years in many aspects of health care and education in both metropolitan. rural and overseas settings. Rob is a actively involved in community education and  service across the local health area.


Sandy Hawke
Board Member

Retired Primary School Teacher with vast experience in governance and education and has lived in the region for several years. Sandy is actively involved in many community groups across Victor Harbor.


Tania Baldock
Board Member

Tania’s experience has been within SA Health and Local Government and most recently the Royal Australasian College of Physicians.  The Victor Harbor Private Hospital serves a need within the community with profits going back to the community, and this is why she volunteers on the board.  



Bruce Gilbert
Board Member

I am a retired medical specialist now residing in Victor Harbor and have been on the Board for two years.


Grant Sutherland
Board Member

Professor Grant Sutherland AC is a retired scientist who spent most of his professional life as Director of the Department of Cytogenetics and Molecular Genetics at the Adelaide Women’s and Children’s Hospital


Glen Rappensberg
Board Member

Having recently moved to the Fleurieu region permanently, combined with over two decades of experience in leadership positions within the South Australian human service sector; I look forward to making a valuable contribution to the Governance of the Victor Harbor Private Hospital as a community representative.


Executive Staff


Debbie Martin
Chief Executive Officer

Regional Director Barossa Hills and Fleurieu Region 


Anne Price
Executive Staff

Regional Director of Nursing and Midwifery
Director of Nursing and Midwifery South Coast


Margaret Hirche
Executive Staff

Clinical Services Coordinator (VHPH/SFHS)  Private Hospital Services.


Chris Swanson
Executive Staff

Administration and Finance Southern Fleurieu Health Service  


Copyright © 2020 Victor Harbor Private Hospital Inc.
Victor Harbor Private Hospital